The "Regole d'Ampezzo"

The historical and cultural foundations of the area, the Regole d’Ampezzo (the rules of Ampezzo), is an ancient institution which continues to be a vital part of local life today.

Designed to regulate the relationship between man and nature, Le Regole bring together the descendants of the original families of the Ampezzo valley to govern and protect the territory in accordance with a collective vision.

This system has for centuries enabled the conservation of the local natural heritage.

Today the families descending from the Ampezzo genealogy continue to jointly administer their undivided heritage of pastures and forests, and by so doing, preserving their original beauty.

"Sestieri d'Ampezzo"

The Municipality of Cortina d'Ampezzo is made up of six areas, or villages - Sestieri - each representing their local community and particularly active in organising folkloristic events.
The six Sestieri are Alverà, Azzon, Cadin, Chiave, Cortina and Zuel.

In July and August, each Sestiere organises its own week of rural festivities with music and typical gastronomical specialities. Volunteers from the Sestieri work hard to make their Sestiere's festivities the best of all!
In both summer and winter the Sestieri challenge each other in various sport events, stirring intense local passion.
Each sestiere has its own ornate village church, the main ones being Santa Giuliana in Alverà, Sant’Andrea in Col, Madonna della Salute in Cadin di Sotto, Sant’Antonio da Padova in Chiave and San Rocco in Zuel di Sopra, well worth a visit.